Norway Malaysia Association



The foundation on establishing Norway Malaysia Association is rooted from the discussion between our Honorary Ambassador Looi Cheok Hun and Mr. Ramli Othman, MIDA (Malaysia Industrial Development Agency) Director during their visit to Norway in 1988. 


In 1989, an Associate Professor at Norwegian School of Management BI, Mr. Jan Evensmo, started a project where BI could do research and brainstorming with schools in Asian countries. It was suggested by Mrs. Mette Karina Thorp that they should do the project with the universities in Malaysia. From there, there were arranged seminars, meetings and other official functions between BI students and Norwegian businessmen. The main topics of discussion were mainly looking for some kind of bridge that will support Norwegians interest in Malaysia and vise versa.


The Norwegian radio stations and local newspapers were used as the main source to promote Malaysia.



  • Interacting with Malaysia business, commercial, cultural and educational interests visiting Norway.
  • Providing a forum where members meet to exchange ideas and discuss matters of mutual interest
  • Periodic dissemination of information relating to opportunities for trade, commerce and investement in Malaysia.
  • Provision of services to members intending to visit Malaysia for the purpose of business through the use of NMA's contacts.



It has been a tradition that the association celebrate the National Day with varities of homemade Malaysian dishes, in addition to cultural show, talks, lucky draws and etc.




Interim board: Honorary Members:

Dir. Kjell Sletsjøe, Jotun

Dir. Michael Røtnes, Mustad

Dir. Tor Halvorsen, ABB

Dir. Steinar Olsen, Anshor Drilling Fluids

Prof. Jan Evensmo, BI

Dir. Mette Karina Thorp, Asia Consult

Mr. Jan Evensmo

Mr. Michael Thorp

Mrs. Mette Karina Thorp (Lifelong)




1st. elected board Dec.6. 1990: Chairman of the Board:

Mette Karina Thorp (Chairman)

Steinar Olsen (Vice-Chairman)

Tor Halvorsen

Bjørn Floberghagen, Mustad

Arnfinn Jørgensen-Dahl, FNI

Jan Evensmo

1990 - 1996  Mette Karina Thorp

1996 - 1997  Michael Thorp

1997 - 1998  Mette Karina Thorp

1998 - 2000  Carsten J. Helgeby

2000 - 2005  Dr. Faredah Myhre

2006 - 2008 Dr. Imtiaz Hossain

2008 - 2010 Mary Anne Grønningen

2010 - 2011 Jessie Sandosham

2011 - current Roslin N. Schlezinger

Advisers to the board:  

Norwegian Ambassadors to Malaysia:

H.E. Eirik Glenne

H.E. Carsten J. Helgeby

H.E. Fred Harald Nomme

H.E. Arild Eik

H.E Arild Braastad (current)


Malaysian Ambassadors to Norway:

H.E. Looi Cheok Hun

H.E. Datuk Yahya Baba

H.E. Choo Siew-Kioh

H.E. Dato Syed Sultan Bin Seni Pakir

H.E. Amb. Jasmi Md. Yusof

H.E Dato' Kamarudin Mustafa (current)

Members of the board 1990 - 2011


Hilde Austad

Marit Berg

Michelle Chinnappen

Vimala Eng

Pål Gretland

Kee Chiz Kok

Frode Løvmo

Petter Olsen

Rolf Range

Hamidah Simensen

Marius Throndsen

Thomas Zakariassen

Carsten J. Helgeby (also Chairman 1998)

Zahidah Grinderud

Faredah Myhre (also Chairman 2000)

Evelyn Yip Lindmoen

Michael Thorp

Mette Karina Thorp

Frank Sandø

Shamsiah Ruud



Rolf Erik Wulf

Arslan F. Mohammed

Jan Evensmo

Jessie Sandosham (also Chairman 2010)

Jacqueline Gomes


Azizah Hammer

Annie Yap

Lynn Sannan

Josef F. Schlezinger

Roslin Nasir Schlezinger

Mary Anne Grønningen (also Chairman 2008)

Fieda Willums

Jan Einar Ruud

Mary Ng

Rafidah Baba Ahmad

Lisa Engelbrethsen










Copyright NMA 2013 ©

 Powered by Makeweb